Sorry

M+ no longer supports this web browser.

M+ 不再支持此網頁瀏覽器。

M+ 不再支持此网页浏览器。

Antony Gormley:
Asian Field

Antony Gormley:
Asian Field

12 Nov 2021
3 Jul 2022
Location: West Gallery

A monumental work by British artist Antony Gormley

In 2003, British artist Antony Gormley invited around 300 people of all ages from Xiangshan village (now Huadong Town in Guangzhou city) to make approximately 200,000 clay figurines over five days. There were three simple instructions: each figurine had to be hand-sized, capable of standing up, and have two eyes. Otherwise, each maker was free to improvise. As an installation, Asian Field is meant to be experienced from a single point of view. As you gaze across a sea of figures, they appear to look back.

This installation belongs to Field, a series that Gormley began in 1989. Other versions of Field have been produced in Australia, North and South America, the United Kingdom, and Europe. In each location, the artist uses locally sourced clay and enlists local communities to mould the figures by hand. By far the biggest and most ambitious work in the series, Asian Field reflects China’s vast territory and large population.

This presentation also features the work of photographer Zhang Hai’er, who captured and documented the making of Asian Field. Zhang paired each maker and one of their works in a series of photo portraits. The portrait subjects stared intently at the camera, allowing us to imagine how their character and attitude might be transferred into the figures they created.

Antony Gormley: Asian Field
Antony Gormley: Asian Field
7:36

Antony Gormley and participants from Xiangshan village look back on the collective experience of creating Asian Field.

Video Transcript

ANTONY GORMLEY: The work asks the three basic existential questions: ‘What are we?’, ‘Where do we come from?’, and ‘Where are we going?’

PAULINE YAO: Great artworks, what they can do is to make you . . . make audiences sort of re-examine or rethink their place in the world.

ANTONY GORMLEY: I wanted to do something very direct and very physical, and I started making small clay things. I think it was after making Field in Britain and the European Field in Malmö that I began to think, China is the future. This was going to be the biggest and the most spectacular of the works, because it had to represent China's size and population. My hope is that this collective field of earth that has been made conscious and been touched, in some way, makes you think about your relationship both to the past and the future.

I came here specifically in 1995 to try to find a way of doing it. I went to Jinan, went to Shandong Province to look at a variety of brick factories.

ANTONY GORMLEY: Three rules, you see: it’s hand-sized, it’s standing vertical, standing up, and the eyes are looking just above the horizon.

You have a lot of experience.

INTERPRETER: [Cantonese] They only have ideas, but you have the experience.

TAN JIAXIN: [Mandarin] At the time, I would have been in Year Six, about twelve years old. I was a primary school student then. Perhaps he wanted us to use our imagination and creativity to freely sculpt the clay.

TAN XUEJIAO: [Mandarin] He often mentioned keywords like 'connect' and 'heart’. When I pressed down into the clay, it felt like I was giving the figurine a heart. I think he was trying to connect the locals with their land in an intimate way. It was my first time participating in an art project with around 300 people, and I found it a very novel experience. It turns out that art can facilitate exchange between people in a special environment.

JIANG XIQUAN: [Cantonese] He needed clay that wouldn’t crumble and had a consistent colour. We extracted our clay from the mountains. Only clay rich in iron can turn red from firing.

JIANG JUWEN: [Cantonese] The key was in the pair of eyes. They need to look up towards the sky, as if they were deep in thought, exploring, contemplating the progress of humanity. Through the joint effort of our villagers and students, we created hundreds of thousands of clay figures. They were first exhibited in Guangzhou, and then around the world.

ANTONY GORMLEY: We are, even in Hong Kong, much more aware of, as it were, the mass, or the collective of humanity. And I find that very inspiring.

PAULINE YAO: I think it's also interesting to think about how the work is having a new life here in the museum. It's kind of made new again. It's given new sort of life, new sort of creative feeling from the people who are part of the participants as well as sort of reconnecting with the original makers.

We really wanted to find people to participate in the process from the very beginning to the end. We ended up having that through around twenty people.

CASPER LI: [Cantonese] Thinking back, they actually gave us a lot of freedom. We worked freely to put together the patterns and choose the figures. Some figures are lighter and some darker, and it was up to us to make comparisons. So, the process was delightful. because being be able to work freely with an artwork is a great satisfaction.

MICHELLE TAM: [Cantonese] Since this is clay, you can see how it was manipulated by the hand and how the texture was created. I would imagine how people made the figures. For example, some figures had a lot of pinch marks on the side, so I thought they looked like dumplings and wondered if their creator was used to making dumplings. I drew a lot of these associations.

MIKI HUI: [Cantonese] During the installation, I picked up the figures and found that some of the makers’ handprints matched my own. It made me realise how close our relationship could be. So I think . . . this is the feeling of connection.

JACKSON KWONG: [Cantonese] Stand at a specific position, and you will be able to see 200,000 figures. I think this reflects the world, or society. It’s not to say a large-scale artwork is just an abstract number. If you look closely, each figure has its own story. Some are signed. Some are bigger, and some are smaller. Some have special forms.

ANTONY GORMLEY: Very good. That's fantastic. I think you've got real grit. Anyway, carry on. Thank you so much. Really good work.

PAULINE YAO: It is a work that actually asks people to sort of slow down a little bit and to look and think about the connection one has to other people and other places and to the rest of the world.

ANTONY GORMLEY: Asian Field is a work that I hope gives voice to the voiceless and materialises a feeling of our present predicament in a time of migration, protest, overpopulation, and climate emergency. By reversing the normal dynamic between an artwork and its public, and making the viewer the focus of the art’s gaze, it hopefully asks us to be aware of our responsibility to the future, to the unborn, as well as to our forebears.

Download

M+ Magazine

Image at top: Installation view of Antony Gormley: Asian Field. Antony Gormley. Antony Gormley: Asian Field, 2003. M+, Hong Kong. Museum purchase and gift of anonymous donor, 2015. © Antony Gormley. Photo Courtesy: Lok Cheng & Dan Leung, M+, Hong Kong

Loading

Sorry

M+ no longer supports this web browser.

M+ 不再支持此網頁瀏覽器。

M+ 不再支持此网页浏览器。

安東尼.葛姆雷:亞洲土地

安東尼.葛姆雷:亞洲土地

2021年11月12日
2022年7月3日
位置: 西展廳

英國藝術家安東尼.葛姆雷的大型作品

2003年,英國藝術家安東尼.葛姆雷邀請象山村(現廣州市花東鎮)約300位老少居民,花了五天時間製作了約20萬個泥人。當時藝術家只提出三個簡單要求:一、泥人要如手掌大小;二、泥人可站立;三、泥人要有兩隻眼睛。其他部份均可以讓創作者自由發揮。如想用最佳角度欣賞《亞洲土地》這件裝置作品,觀眾可站定在單一位置縱目眺望這片如海的泥人,同時也彷彿被成千上萬雙眼睛注視。

葛姆雷自1989年開始創作《土地》系列,《亞洲土地》為其中之一件。其他版本的《土地》先後於澳洲、北美和南美、英國、歐洲製成。藝術家每到一地,都會邀請居民以當地特有的陶泥親手捏製泥人。《亞洲土地》是該系列迄今為止規模最大、最具雄心的作品,反映了中國的地廣人多。

展覽同時展出了攝影師張海兒的作品。他在象山村記錄了《亞洲土地》的製作過程,將每位創作者及其製作的泥人配對呈現。照片中的拍攝對象凝神注視鏡頭,讓人不禁想像這些人的個性,以及他們傳遞至作品中的情感和特質。

安東尼·葛姆雷:亞洲土地
安東尼·葛姆雷:亞洲土地
7:36

安東尼.葛姆雷與象山村的參與者回想創作《亞洲土地》的集體經歷。

影片謄本

安東尼·葛姆雷:(英文)這件作品提出三個關於存在的問題:「我們是甚麼?」、「我們從何而來?」和「我們將往何方?」

姚嘉善:(英文)好的藝術作品能讓觀眾重新審視或思考他們處身於世界的位置和角色。

安東尼·葛姆雷:我想做些直接、實在的東西,所以我開始製作小型的黏土。在英國的《土地》,還有馬模的《歐洲土地》後,我開始思忖:中國是未來所在。這會是最大、最壯觀的作品,因為要反映中國幅員遼闊、人口眾多。我希望這個由集體親手塑造、注入意識的「土地」會令你思考你和過去以及未來的關係。

我在1995年到中國,嘗試想辦法成就此作。我到了濟南,到了山東省,看了不同的陶土工廠。

安東尼·葛姆雷:很簡單,三個要求:它要如手掌般大、垂直站立的、視線朝地平線之上。

你們有豐富經驗。

傳譯員:他們只有想法,但你們有經驗。

譚嘉欣:當時我應該是六年級,12歲左右。當時是小學生嘛。可能是想讓他們發揮自己的想像、創作能力,都是自己自由發揮。

譚雪嬌:他會經常說到一些字詞,就是connect(聯繫),還有heart(心)。按下去的那一刻,就好像幫泥人裝上了心臟的感覺。感覺他在做一件事情是希望當地的人能夠跟自己的土地連接起來,這種親密的感覺。第一次參與有差不多三百人的一個藝術項目,當時覺得很新奇,你會發現原來藝術是可以讓不同的人在一個很特別的環境下進行一場交流。

江錫全:他那種泥土製作的基本是要防止裂開,顏色要統一。我們的泥一般從山中挖來,一定要鐵質重的才能燒成紅色。

江巨文:重點是那一雙眼睛。眼睛必定要朝天,這代表沉思、代表探索,也就是摸索人類發展的步伐。通過我們村民和學生共同努力,終於製作了數十萬個小泥人,集中在廣州進行展覽,然後推向全世界。

安東尼·葛姆雷:即使在香港,我們也更清楚意識到,集體和人類共同體的概念。我認為這很能啟發人心。

姚嘉善:我認為這件作品如何在博物館裏重生也是很值得深思的。作品煥然一新、獲得新的生命,被裝置參與者賦予全新的創意,也與原本的創作者得以再度相連。

我們很想找到一群可以從頭到尾參與全個過程的人。 最後招募到約二十人參與。

李卓翹:現在回想,其實他們給予我們很大的自由。我們能自由發揮,拼出圖樣,或揀選泥人。甚至有些泥人較亮,有些較暗,都靠我們自行比較。所以過程是開心的,因為能自由地在藝術品上發揮是令人很滿足的事。

譚敏晴:因為是泥,你可以看到(人們)怎樣用手操控,每一道質感如何造成。我會想像人們當時製作的情景。有些人在側邊留下很多捏痕,我覺得那很像餃子,並想像製作者是不是有做餃子的習慣。有很多這種聯想。

許彥彤:我在拼砌的時候(將泥人)拿在手上,發現有些手留下的形狀跟我的手一樣,於是就感到原來我們的關係可以這麼近。所以我覺得……這是連繫的感覺。

鄺俊軒:站在一個指定位置,就會看到二十萬個泥人。我覺得這有點反映了世界或社會。不是說一件大型作品只是虛有數字,其實微觀細看的話,(泥人)都有各自的故事。有些有簽名,有些比較大、比較小,有些是形態特別的。

安東尼·葛姆雷:非常好,太美妙了。你們真是了不起,保持着吧。非常感謝,真的做得很好。

姚嘉善:這件作品要求觀眾放慢腳步細看,並思考個人與他人、他方以至全世界的聯繫。

安東尼·葛姆雷:我希望《亞洲土地》讓無聲者發聲,並體現我們當下的困境——一個瀰漫着遷移、抗爭、人口過剩和氣候危機的時代。此作顛倒了藝術品與大眾的正常互動,令觀眾成為作品凝視的對象,讓我們意識到自身對未來、對未來的新生命以及對前人的責任。

下載

M+雜誌

以上是「安東尼.葛姆雷:亞洲土地」的裝置藝術相片。安東尼.葛姆雷:亞洲土地,2003。M+,香港,由香港匿名人士捐助博物館購藏,2015 © 安東尼.葛姆雷。相片由Lok Cheng & Dan Leung提供,M+,香港

載入中